February 10, 2023

ACMHAI Honors Representative Jay Hoffman 

Belleville, Illinois- The Association of Community Mental Health Authorities of Illinois presented Representative Jay Hoffman with the 2022 Legislator of the Year Award. The award was presented to Representative Hoffman by ACMHAI member Dana Rosenzweig, Executive Director, and Board Member John Kernan of the St. Clair County Mental Health Board at his district office in Belleville.

ACMHAI honored Rep. Hoffman for his leadership in the passage of the Mental Health Validation Act (P.A.102-1088), during the 102ndGeneral Assembly. The Act strengthens mental health authorities and facilitates the expansion of additional local resources. In this time of rising demand for critical mental health and substance use disorder treatment, the need for local mental health authorities is especially critical. ACMHAI applauds Rep. Hoffman’s commitment and work to ensure access to adequate mental health care across Illinois.


The Association of Community Mental Health Authorities of Illinois (ACMHAI pronounced “ack-my”), established in 1972 is a partnership of organizations committed to the concept of community behavioral health. This commitment is demonstrated by a shared respect and concern for citizens of our communities who experience mental illness, emotional disturbances, substance use disorders, and developmental disabilities. For additional details please visit www.acmhai.org


Hoffman press release FINAL