Meet the ACMHAI Executive Committee

Ron Melka


In my career I have been on both sides of the social service funding system. I started as an Emergency Room Tech, a crisis worker, and then a court appointed Youth Advocate. I have been a CEO of a youth agency, a grant writer for an FQHC and a United Way Executive overseeing several million in funding. For the past 8 years I have been the Executive Director of the Lyons Township Mental Health Commission. Service wise, I am a longtime Kiwanis member and former LT Governor, a Scout Leader, and volunteer coach.

Lynn Canfield

Vice President

Lynn Canfield is a UIUC alum with a BS in Math and MA in Linguistics, thesis on Cultural Competence. In 2009 Ms. Canfield joined the Champaign County Mental and Health Developmental Disabilities Board as Associate Director for I/DD and in September 2016 became Executive Director. She is active in state and national trade associations, currently chairing ACMHAI’s I/DD Committee and NACBHDD’s Behavioral Health and Decarceration Committee and serving on its board of officers. She participates in NACO’s Healthy Counties Advisory Board, Health Policy Steering Committee, Data Driven Justice Initiative, and Stepping Up Initiative.

Donna Augustyn-Sloan


A licensed registered occupational therapist and health educator, I’ve incorporated mental health education into my practice in schools, early intervention, as a college educator, and community volunteer. I am the current chair of Marshall County 708 Board with a population of 11,000. Our volunteer county 708 Board has brought needed oversight of services and received a NACCHO Model Practice Award for efforts in collaboration with another rural county, public health and county boards.

LeAnne Shoemaker


LeAnne Shoemaker has held the position of Director of Financial Operations for Macon County Mental Health Board for the past twelve years. Prior to joining MCMHB, her career was spent in the non-profit arena serving individuals with developmental disabilities; overseeing both programmatic and fiscal responsibilities. She earned her bachelor’s degree in Business Administration and Finance though University of Illinois at Springfield with a minor in Not-for -Profit Administration. Currently, she is a member of the executive board of the Decatur Lincolnland AMBUCS chapter.

Deborah Humphrey

Children’s Behavioral Health Committee

Deborah Humphrey, MBA, BSN, RN is the Executive Director of the Madison County Mental Health Board. She has 40+ years of behavioral health administration to include 21 years of work experience through her employment with two Community Mental Health Authorities. She has served in leadership positions, as President, Vice President, Executive Committee Member and Children’s Behavioral Health Committee, Chair for the Association of Community Mental Health Authorities of Illinois. She has a gubernatorial appointment to the Illinois Children’s Mental Health Partnership as well as representation in numerous local, state, and national committees and workgroups.

Chris Myers

Intellectual/Developmental Disabilities Committee

Chris Myers is the Executive Director of the Livingston County Mental Health Board and the Board for the Care and Treatment of Persons with a Developmental Disability.  She received a B.A. in Social Work/Therapeutic Recreation from the College of St. Francis in Joliet, IL.  Starting in a 0-3 Early Intervention Program, then Activity Director, Case manager, and Special Olympics coach for a Center for Developmental Disability services, to an Independent Service Coordinator for 13 years, and finally landed into the role as ED of our boards over five years ago.  She also serves as the Director of the Livingston County Commission on Children and Youth which is run out of the office, is the treasurer of the Livingston County Homeless Coalition, and a participating member on the OSF Livingston Community Health Needs Assessment team.  

Dana Rosenzweig

Legislative Co-Chair

Dana has been a member of ACMHAI since 1987. He has served as the Executive Director of the St. Clair County Mental Health Board for the past 21 years. Dana is licensed clinical social worker and has served on numerous local boards. He is a past member of the Governor’s Council on Aging. Dana is also a past president of ACMHAI and has been chair of the Legislative Committee for the past 6 years.

Jason Holcomb

Legislative Co-Chair

Jason is a purpose-driven leader, with a tenacious passion for mental health. Having worked many years in the community mental health and disability sector, Jason sees mental health as foundational to the success of a community. Throughout his career, Jason has used innovative approaches to solving social problems. He has been trained in multiple collaborative approaches and brings a collaborative innovation lens to funding, project development, and community building. Currently, Jason serves as Director for the newly formed Winnebago County Community Mental Health Board. He has a master’s degree in social work (MSW) focused in leadership from Indiana University School of Social Work.

Jim Russell

Medicaid Chair

Jim Russell serves as the Executive Director of the Vermilion County Mental Health 708 Board in Danville. Jim has a Master of Science degree in Counseling, and is a Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor (LCPC) and was a Licensed Sex Offender Treatment Provider. He is also a Certified Instructor for Mental Health First Aid, in both the Youth and Adult curriculum. Jim’s previous work experience includes time with the Center for Children’s Services and Catholic Charities in Danville, in both therapy and supervisory roles; substitute teaching; and approximately 10 years as a volunteer EMT.

Deanna Cada

Membership Chair

Deanna Cada is the Executive Director of the DeKalb County Community Mental Health Board and Adjunct Faculty at Northern Illinois University. Ms. Cada is committed to working with the Mental Health Board to ensure that all resident of DeKalb County have access to quality behavioral healthcare. Ms. Cada is involved in numerous community initiatives In DeKalb County. She is proud to be the Vice-President of ACMHAI. ACMHAI provides peer networking, professional development and innovative ideas for the field of Mental Health Boards

Ms. Dart has over seventeen years’ experience in non-profit association management. Most recently, she served as the Executive Director of Prescription Justice, a national nonprofit organization dedicated to ending the crisis of high prescription drug costs. Prior to her tenure with Prescription Justice, Ms. Dart was the Associate Executive Director for the Illinois Public Health Association (IPHA), an 8,000-member organization dedicated exclusively to protecting the public’s health. Ms. Dart received her Master of Public Administration and Bachelor of Health Services Administration degrees from the University of Illinois.

Jodi Dart



To access this page please Register or Login